Ballon d’Or 2015 Nominees Announced!


Ballon d’Or 2015 Nominees Announced!

The Ballon d’Or presented by FIFA is one of the biggest individual awards in International Football. The winner is undisputedly the best footballer in the world for the year, and wins the respect of everyone across the globe who is associated with The Beautiful Game. Every year, there is always a great deal of hype before the nominees, and eventually the winner, are announced. This year was no different, and the list of nominees for the Ballon d’Or 2015 features a host of big names who have performed brilliantly in 2015.

Ballon d'Or 2015
The Ballon d’Or Trophy

Not surprisingly, 6 of the 23 nominees are from F.C. Barcelona, who have performed brilliantly this year and are leading the Spanish League with 33 points in 13 matches, 4 points ahead of Atletico Madrid. All the players nominated for this year’s Ballon d’Or are currently playing in the UEFA Champions’ League, with their respective clubs.

Nominees for the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015

Sergio Agüero (Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Wolfsburg/Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern München), Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Thomas Müller (Bayern München), Manuel Neuer (Bayern München), Neymar (Barcelona), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Ivan Rakitić (Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Bayern München), James Rodríguez (Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Alexis Sánchez (Arsenal), Luis Suárez (Barcelona), Yaya Touré (Manchester City), Arturo Vidal (Juventus/Bayern München).

Ballon d'Or 2015
Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, who have won the Ballon d’Or before, are nominated again this year.

Coincidentally, nine of the ten coaches / managers nominees for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football 2015 are also currently in charge of UEFA Champions League group stage teams.

Nominees for FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football 2015

Massimiliano Allegri (Juventus), Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid), Laurent Blanc (Paris Saint-Germain), Unai Emery (Sevilla), Josep Guardiola (Bayern München), Luis Enrique (Barcelona), José Mourinho (Chelsea), Jorge Sampaoli (Chile), Diego Simeone (Atlético Madrid), Arsène Wenger (Arsenal).

Who do you think will win this year’s Ballon d’Or according to you? Tell us in the comments section!